Collective labour agreement sector (CAO sector)

All enterprises and institutions active in the Netherlands are included in a collective labour agreement (CAO in Dutch) sector. The division into CAO sectors is based on the position of employees in the negotiations on working conditions. There are three collective labour agreement sectors: private enterprises, government and subsidised corporations.