More detailed subdivision of the countries of the former Soviet Union

In this article, the former Soviet Union is subdivided into five sub regions:

  • Russia
  • Western countries: Ukraine, Belarus and Moldova
  • Baltic states: Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia
  • Central Asia: Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan
  • Caucasus: Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan

Only part of the persons born in one of the 15 states of the former Soviet Union are included in the municipal population registers (GBA) as being born in one of the present new states which arose after the dissolution of the Soviet Union in December 1991. Most of them are registered as natives of the ‘former Soviet Union’. An allocation method on the basis of their place of birth is used to determine the nationality of these people as citizens of one of the current states.