Social Support Act

The Social Support Act  (Wet Maatschappelijke Ondersteuning or WMO) came into effect on January 2007. It replaced two other acts in the area of welfare and provisions for the disabled, and includes the home care component and a number of minor subsidy regulations related to living, welfare and care from the exceptional medical expenses act (AWBZ).  Since 1 January 2007, municipalities are responsible for the provision of home care and aids to the elderly, ill and disabled. The funds central government pays municipalities for this have been transferred from the exceptional medical expenses act (AWBZ) to the municipal funds.