Workers from east European EU countries

People employed by companies or institutions liable to pay wage tax and social premiums in the Netherlands. The figures are based on wage declarations by companies to the tax authorities. One-man businesses are therefore not included in the figures, neither are persons who do housework for someone else (domestic services). The figures are provisional.

EU countries in eastern Europe are Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania (members since 1 May 2004), and Rumania and Bulgaria (members since 1 January 2007).