The disciplines referred to in this article are the disciplines of the highest completed level of education, and are based on the standard education classification (SOI 2006), which is divided into ten sectors:

  1. General education
  2. Teacher training
  3. Humanities, social sciences, communication and art
  4. Economics, commercial management and administration
  5. Law, public administration, public order and security
  6. Maths, sciences and computer science
  7. Engineering and technology
  8. Agriculture and environment
  9. Health care, social services and care
  10. Catering, tourism, leisure, transport and logistics

The figures are taken from the Labour Force Survey, a monthly sample survey among the non-institutional population of the Netherlands aged 15 years and older. The sample accounts for around 1 percent of the Dutch population.