In 2004, there were 483 municipalities in the Netherlands, 2,529 municipal districts and 11,190 neighbourhoods. In 2005, there were 467 municipalities, 2,491 municipal districts and 11,286 neighbourhoods.
Neighbourhoods may vary considerably from one another with respect to number of residents and area. Neighbourhoods are generally smaller and more densely populated in urbanised area, whereas neighbourhoods in rural areas are generally larger and scarcely populated. The most populous neighbourhoods (e.g. Groot-IJsselmonde in Rotterdam with more than 26 thousand residents) have more inhabitants than almost three hundred municipalities.