At the end of January 2014, the Russian government imposed a boycott on pork from the EU due to a contamination scandal. After increasing political tension, Russia introduced new boycott measures on 7 August 2014. Vegetables, fruit, meat, fish and dairy products from the EU, the US, Norway, Australia and Canada were banned.