Eurozone or euro countries

Countries included in the European Monetary Union (EMU). On 1 January 1999, the euro was introduced as the official unit of currency within the EMU. During the first three years, payments between the participating countries were expressed in euros. Prices of shares, bonds and stock exchange options were also expressed in euros. Since 2002, the euro is the legal unit of currency in twelve European countries. In recent years, Slovenia (2007), Cyprus and Malta (2008), Slovakia (2009) and Estonia (2011) joined the eurozone.