Dutch Caribbean

Since 10 October 2010, the Kingdom of the Netherlands consists of four countries: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curacao and Saint Maarten. The Netherlands Antilles have then ceased to exist, because all islands have acquired a new status.
Curacao and Saint Maarten are new constituent countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Curacao and Saint Maarten have a so-called ‘Status aparte‘ (separate status) within the Kingdom and have become autonomous countries. They have their own administration and will no longer depend on the Netherlands.
Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba will acquire the status of new Dutch municipalities and will indeed strengthen their ties with the Netherlands. The former BES islands, currently named Dutch Caribbean, are ‘special municipalities’ of the Netherlands.