Workers from Central and Eastern Europe

The EU member states in Central and Eastern Europe are: Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania (since 1 May 2004) and Romania and Bulgaria (since 1 January 2007).

Workers are defined as all persons employed by companies and institutions liable to tax and social contributions in the Netherlands. Figures on people employed in the Netherlands are based upon wage declarations submitted to the tax authorities by employees. Self-employed without personnel and persons working in other people’s households are not included. The figures are provisional. If a person employed in the Netherlands has the Dutch nationality and a foreign nationality, the Dutch nationality counts.