Since 1 October 1997 Dutch law prescribes that people receiving the Dutch nationality shall renounce their former nationality; there are a number of exceptions, for example if:

- the applicant has the nationality of a state whose law does not permit its nationality to be renounced (e.g. Algeria, Argentina, Morocco, Syria and Tunisia)
- the applicant was born in the Kingdom of the Netherlands and is resident in the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles or Aruba at the time of the application
- the applicant is underage
- the applicants is married to or a registered partner of a Dutch national
- the applicant is a refugee recognised by the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles or Aruba.

The complete list of exceptions is published in Staatscourant of 10 July 1997.