Reintegration programme

It mainly concerns reintegration programmes offered by municipal authorities. Under the Act on Employment and Assistance (WWB), municipalities are responsible for activation and reintegration of particular categories of unemployed. These categories consist of unemployed receiving benefits under the Work and Social Assistance Act (WWB), the Older and Partially Disabled Former Self-employed Persons Income Act (IOAZ) and the Older and Partially Disabled Former Employed Persons Income Act (IOAW), persons registered at a Centre for Work and Income (CWI) as unemployed jobseekers not receiving a benefit and persons receiving a benefit under the General Surviving Relatives Act (Anw). Reintegration programmes aim at a swift (re-)entry of unemployed into the labour market. Municipal authorities have various facilities at their disposal, like training, work experience positions and day care centres. A reintegration programme may offer more than one facility. Sometimes, people who do not receive benefits and are not registered at a CWI are also eligible for participation in a reintegration programme. These are mostly immigrants attending a citizenship class or school leavers participating in a Work First project. These facilities aim to prevent unemployment and encourage people to be socially active.

Basically, municipalities are not responsible for reintegration of people receiving benefits under the Disability Insurance Act (WAO), the act on Work and Income according to Labour Capacity (WIA), the Act on Disabled Self-employed (WAZ), the Act on Young Disabled Persons (Wajong) or the Unemployment Insurance Act (WW). The Social Security Agency (UWV) is responsible for the reintegration of these persons. Municipalities and the Social Security Agency sometimes exchange clients, but the number of persons involved is small.

Back to article