Conurbations consist of one or more urban agglomerations and the surrounding area which are connected through various relations, such as the housing market. There are 22 conurbations in the Netherlands. They consist of one central municipality (central city) and a number of surrounding municipalities.
Not all Dutch municipalities belong to a conurbation. To avoid effects of municipal border changes, the municipal division of 1 January 2005 was used for the figures on 1996 and 2004.